CHROMOSOMES: Part 2

 

 

I saw my mother on the bed, looking at me with a permanent smile on her face.

Her eyes were filled with tears and I wonder if she realized it or not that the tears had rolled down her cheeks and touched her lips, giving more perfection to her smile.

This particular happening took me back 20 years ago….. when I was just 7.

It was the time of April. Spring was at the peak and happiness was in people but at the same time, I was there; completely unaware about life and happiness.

Now and then, I used to wander, in search of food, in search of compassion. My clothes were ragged and I couldn’t remember the patterns of my red skirt or last time my white shirt was white.  My hair was a mess and there were countless allergies and wounds on my body.

It felt as if I was a living dead because no one even cared to notice me.

One day, I was punished and beaten just because I had touched a ball of a rich kid. Though I was small, I has understood the code of the world, “money is everything; a key to contentment as well as callousness.” Because whoever had money was definitely happy; but they lacked the vital feeling of humanity, compassion and love.

I couldn’t remember the last time I ate properly. My body was weak and it felt like it hadn’t received nutrition for weeks.

I went inside a restaurant. If I was lucky enough that day, I would get some leftovers.

As the waiter saw me, he yelled, “You again? Didn’t I say you to never come here? This place is for decent peoples not filthy child like you.”

I stood there, staring at the heartless person before me. I tried to beg and cry for food but I didn’t have energy.

I joined my hands and closed my eyes. I could feel my tears.

Then after some moments, the waiter said, “Okay I will give you the leftovers but only if you wash those dishes on time.” He pointed to the piles of dishes in the kitchen.

I nodded.

 

The hands of the clock where continuously changing, but the piles of utensils didn’t decrease. I wanted to weep but I knew there was nothing inside me, not even a drop of tear to come out.

I saw the waiter on the kitchen door. He was apparently angry. “You filthy child! Only 6 plates in two hours? Now you are not getting the leftovers.”

After saying this, he grabbed the tray of leftovers and threw it on the street for dogs. I wanted to run for the breadcrumbs but my tiny thin legs didn’t help.

I managed to slowly walk till the door but by the time i got there, the dogs were already enjoying their meal.

The dogs usually stared at me and begin to growl with anger reflecting on their faces. That time I realized that a poor human is the poorest among all living beings.

I once again opened the door of the restaurant to go inside because I still have loads of utensil to clean.  Though now I could get nothing in return but I must need to keep my words.

When I opened the door I saw a lady blocking my way. She was tall, brunette and dressed in red. She had big almond eyes, same as mine, slim nose and thin lips which was painted in red. She was elegant with a perfect smile on her face.

For the first time, I had seen someone smiling at me. She didn’t speak a word but instead grabbed my hands and took me to the nearest table.

She gestured the waiters to bring foods and the waiters lined up with beautifully decorated food trays.

The waiter who had scolded me before and didn’t let me eat breadcrumbs was bringing me a whole piece of beautifully decorated sandwich.

After the foods had arrived, the lady said with a soft voice, “This is for you.”

I was particularly amazed to hear this. These four words literally changed my perception towards rich people. That day I realized that god actually sends angels for help.

That day, I ate like anything and everything and the lady was simply smiling at me.

After I finished my meal, I mean I huge meal; the lady asked, “what’s your name?”

I blacked out for a moment because it had been months that I hadn’t been called by my name.

After some time, I answered “Alison, my name is Allison.”

I found my voice to be louder than ever.

She introduced herself as Rachel, the owner of the restaurant.

She again inquired me, “Where are your parents? Where do they live?”

Even though I knew the answer but my voice began to shake, my lips were trembling. The bitter truth which was buried in my heart was finally making its way out.

“I don’t have parent and I live on the streets.” I stammered.

I saw Rachel’s smile fade away which was being replaced with compassion and sympathy.

Her eyes were filled with tears and I wonder if she realized it or not that the tears had rolled down her cheeks and touched her lips, giving more perfection to her smile.

“May I have the honor of being your mother?”


 

Heyyy! so here is the story of Alison’s past… her struggle with life and how she met her mother.

But still the mystery behind Rachel’s  attempt to commit suicide remains unclear.

Stay Tuned till Next FriYay!!!



XOXO,

Rizasa ❤

Leave a Reply

